Iris Guesthouse 

Mom, you asked for some pictures so here is the view from the balcony of the hotel we’re staying at in Kigali, called Iris Guesthouse. I took this picture at 5:30am this morning as the time difference really made it hard to sleep.

It’s so lovely here and not as different from the States as I thought it would be… It has really made me more aware of my own Western views of Africa and my preconceived notions of what it would be like. I knew coming in that I look at the world through a Western lens, but it wasn’t until I got here that I really understood what that meant. We went to a Genocide Memorial today (which I will write more about later) and learning about how colonization played a big part in the development of genocide ideologies was so striking.

Tonight we are going to Heaven for dinner (a famous restaurant here in Kigali) and I plan on trying banana beer! I’ll let you know how it is!

Xoxox,

Erica

Leave a Reply

