Jet lag and the Time Difference

Where to even begin? The last 48 hours have been a whirlwind! Let me start by saying that I made it! I’m in Rwanda, Kigali to be exact, and so far it’s been wonderful.

The 17 hour journey over was uneventful in a good way (all my luggage arrived safely!)–the only downside was that on my first flight the large man next to me did not respect the boundaries of his seat and kept elbowing me.  I also met a man from South Africa who was flying for the first time! It was really cool to be able to trade stories about where we were from, although it took me a bit to adjust to his accent (as I’m sure he had to adjust to mine).

Once I finally landed in Kigali I ended up sleeping for 15 hours straight! Rwanda is 6 hours ahead of Virginia so when I arrived it was 2am here and 8pm in VA, but I was so tired it didn’t matter. I met up with Cynthia and three of her former students, Owen, Daniel, and Kimberly, that night (Cynthia is the fantastic woman who put this trip together) and we had dinner. I played it safe and had an avocado and tomato salad, but Owen had tilapia with a peanut butter sauce!

Today we are going to visit a reconciliation village here in Kigali. I’ll talk more in depth about them on my next blog post but I am very interested to see how Rwanda is functioning post-genocide. If you’re interested in learning about the Rwandan genocide I highly encourage you to read We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow Will Be Killed With Our Families by Philip Gourevitch, a journalist. Very compelling.

Well, it’s 6:45am here so I’m going to do some yoga and have breakfast to start my day! Love you all!

Xoxox,

Erica

  One thought on “Jet lag and the Time Difference

  1. Auntie Linda B.
    September 7, 2016 at 7:32 am

    Bravo! You made it! Your luggage made it! Wish you a wonderful first day, Erica! — we’re in the same time zone 🙂 xoxox

    Like

  2. Jessica Linton
    September 7, 2016 at 11:37 am

    so happy to hear you have arrived. you are a badass, be safe and have fun!
    love you

    Like

  3. Lori Kreider
    September 7, 2016 at 12:23 pm

    Thanks for the update, Booke! can you post photos on this blog? Would love to get a picture in my mind of where you are. … love you!

    Like

  4. September 7, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    Happy to hear you arrived safely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

