First Ten Days

Well I made it through the first 10 days….and today I am sick. Not because of the food here, the cook here makes sure it is clean and safe; I think it may just be my body adjusting to being in a new place…and I had some banana wine a couple days ago. I’m drinking lots of water to stay hydrated and the staff here are simply amazing and so kind. I know I will be better soon, but if not I have antibiotics at the ready!

I’ve learned so much even in these 10 days and I am already falling in love with Rwanda. When I feel better I will write a real post, there is so much to tell you! Until then, here’s a brief summary of what I’ve done so far:

  • Went to a genocide memorial in Kigali
  • Painted blackboards with blackboard paint at 2 schools
  • Binge watched Orphan Black
  • Met a really cute gecko
  • Saw a mass grave full of bones
  • Eaten the freshest avocado I’ve ever had
  • Learned about the resilience and spirit of Rwanda
  • Made three really good new friends from California
  • Gotten a million hugs from the kids at Sonrise School
  • Went to a fabric market
  • Tried some homemade banana beer (YUM)
  • Hiked to see Golden Monkeys in Musanze
  • Eaten a lot of bananas
  • Got more freckles
  • Visited a reconciliation village
  • Bought a hand-carved gorilla walking stick
  • Met a woman named Grace who makes beautiful purses and quilts
  • Tried goat for the first time
  • Am trying to learn some basic Rwandan words

Until next time! Hope you all are happy and well wherever you are.

Xoxox,

Erica

  One thought on “First Ten Days

  1. Lori Kreider
    September 15, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    Thanks for posting, Booke! Soak up those new experiences! Will be praying for a quick recovery! Love you to the moon and back! ❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

