They Don’t Celebrate Thanksgiving in Rwanda

They don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here, but I’m still taking this time to talk about being thankful!

Where to even begin. When I look at my life the question quickly changes from “what am I thankful for” to “is there anything I’m not thankful for”?

I cannot even begin to express the amount of gratitude I feel towards this life. The closest I could get would be climbing mount Everest and yelling THANK YOU at the top of my lungs. Or hugging everyone I know. Because I am so grateful for all of YOU! You are amazing!

13320545_897985863663134_8884615924912221505_oThis year has been FULL of adventure. I’ve been to the Virgin Islands, graduated with my M.Ed and BA in English, saw Hamilton (!!!!!), volunteered in Rwanda for three months, made connections all over the world, and been introduced to an entirely new sense of freedom in adulthood! Not to mention my siblings who are both doing amazing things too, one at college in Missouri and one getting ready to go to college! And my parents, lovingly putting up with it all.

What isn’t there to be thankful for?
12936547_1367093449974816_3758734196950142564_nMy friends are all over the place now, living their lives and creating new places to call home. Some have “real jobs”, others are still in college, some are planning their next steps, some are in far away places like China and Senegal and Switzerland, but all of them are out there making a difference. I’m so proud of you guys and so thankful for your presence in my life. You guys are a gift, I wouldn’t be who I am without your love.

Some things that I’ve been extra thankful for these past few months:

  • WIFI WIFI WIFI
  • Whatsapp
  • That Netflix streams here
  • My phone, which is also a pretty good camera
  • Friends and family staying in touch
  • That I actually love Rwandan food (so fresh!)
  • The weather (always in the 70’s)
  • Kind strangers/new friends
  • Spotify offline (music everywhere!)
  • Anxiety decreasing (AMAZING)
  • Mosquito repellent/nets
  • Personal growth
  • Pictures of home

Can’t think of anything I’m not thankful for except that week where I was sick after first coming to Rwanda (gross), but that exposed my body to bacteria that it can now fight off so maybe it was a good thing? Who knows!

In any case, I hope you are all having a wonderful Thanksgiving surrounded by people you love–eat an extra piece of pumpkin pie for me!

xoxox,

Erica

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

