2 Days

When I came to Rwanda I wasn’t expecting much. People kept saying this trip would change my life but I didn’t really believe that. I knew I’d fall in love with the kids and maybe make some new contacts, but then I’d go home and move to Richmond with my friends, get a “real job” and people would finally stop asking me what my plans were.

It’s totally a cliche to say this, but this trip changed my life. It has changed my plans, my goals, my heart, my beliefs, my sense of style, my purpose. It’s been a whirlwind, but I’ve found something that inspires me, challenges me, encourages me to think outside the box, and something I genuinely love. Not just teaching, but engaging with the country of Rwanda. Meeting the people here, learning about the history, seeing how they are pushing forward, throwing myself into that positive change anyway I can. Because you have the power to make a difference wherever you are. I feel like I’m meeting myself for the first time everyday and I actually like who I’m becoming. What a gift!

I’m not saying it’s been perfect, I still hate getting up in the morning and drink way too much coffee, and I definitely had some language mix-ups when I first got here, but teaching and living in Rwanda makes me feel alive and excited in a way nothing else up to this point has. 

And to think I’m leaving tomorrow! I’ll be home in 2 days!

I’m so excited to see family and friends and to have constant access to wifi (#firstworldproblems). My plane leaves Kigali at 8pm tomorrow and I get into Dulles around 4pm on Thursday. A 22 hour trip! It will be a bit of a culture shock to be back, so maybe cut me some slack the first couple weeks (jetlag is the worst). But I cannot wait to see smiling faces and have some Starbucks coffee! I love you guys!

The next time you hear from me, I’ll be State-side! AHHHH! Wish me luck!

Xoxox,

Erica

  One thought on “2 Days

  1. Wanda Bussiere
    December 6, 2016 at 3:43 pm

    Wishing you a safe trip home Erica!! xoxo

    Like

  2. Auntie Linda B.
    December 6, 2016 at 8:58 pm

    Safe travels Erica!!! What a wonderful post – bravo for you for finding JOY and purpose through this trip. You’ve written beautiful posts which hopefully you’ll be able to re-read when you are back and have some time to reflect on the whirlwind, inspiring life you’ve been leading in Rwanda.

    Sorry to be missing seeing you this Christmas, but I know you’ll have a wonderful time with all the extended family! Maybe we’ll do a group Facetime! Sending HUGE HUGS to you! xoxoxoxo Love Auntie Linda

    Like

  3. Auntie Linda B.
    December 6, 2016 at 8:59 pm

    Oh yeah I see Wanda also posted so here’s to AUNTIE POWER — all aunties unite! A big cheering squad for awesome nieces and nephews…xoxoxoxoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

