Goodbye Rwanda, Hello Greece!

227624_10151401224110505_2130952596_nIt still doesn’t seem quite real: I’m flying to Greece for 2 weeks for a family reunion on Monday! Not only do I get to see my entire family on my mom’s side (this rarely happens because we’re all over the world currently), but Greece is in the same timezone as Rwanda so no jet-lag for me! I’ll still be exhausted from the 18 hour trip, but at least I’ll be able to sleep when the sun goes down. SCORE!

What Iā€™m excited about: Going back to a country I fell in love with when I was in 5th grade (almost 13 years ago!) and seeing how things have changed or stayed the same. Eating quality sea food (hello, squid)! Connecting and reconnecting with family I haven’t seen in a while, spending all day at the beach, staying up late playing games, talking and just being together. Feeling like I belong, seamlessly.

What Iā€™m nervous about: Surprisingly, not much. The Rwandan attitude is rubbing off on me! I’ll get there when I get there and that’s all there is to it. I’ll pack an outfit or two in my carry-on, as always, and enjoy the flight(s).

15781264_10154752169935505_1785950775481871040_n

What Iā€™m bringing: Vacation attitude, beach books on my Kindle, excitement. Flowy skirts and outfits for the beach, two crop tops, and NO PANTS (okay, maybe one pair of pants just in case but I don’t plan on wearing them). Lots of Rwandan coffee.

I don’t know if I can even wait until Monday! It already feels like the longest week of my life and it’s Tuesday.

6 MORE DAYS!

xoxox,

Erica

  One thought on “Goodbye Rwanda, Hello Greece!

  1. June 20, 2017 at 12:41 pm

    Wish you safe travels Erica!!! I am bringing Take Two, 2 decks of playing cards, 1 memory game. Oh and some clothes! šŸ™‚ And books.

    I am marvelling that it is only 7 sleeps til Brian and I leave Aachen. I bought fish and some flowers in the market today and had tears in my eyes walking home — I will miss this year of wandering and freedom to daydream! To cheer me up Zach arrives tomorrow night, and Lucy and Beatrice on Thursday. While they were all together at Christmas, we haven’t been all 5 of us together since Wanda’s wedding! And that was just for a few hours!

    Can’t wait to see you and all the whole big familY!!!!

    xoxo
    Auntie Linda

    Like

Leave a Reply

